Ged Classes

Many Americans who did not earn a high school diploma take the GED test to increase their job chances or to continue their education in college.

Many Americans who did not earn a high school diploma take the General Educational Development (GED) test to increase their chances of landing a job or to continue their education in college or a post-secondary school. The GED test is accessible in each state, and it is generally administered by the state’s adult basic education program.

The General Educational Development (GED) examination is a group of four tests that evaluate a person’s knowledge of academic subjects typically taught in high school. Test takers who pass all four sections attain a certificate of completion from the nation where the exam was held. This certificate is considered by many employers, colleges, and post-secondary schools as equivalent to a high school diploma.

The GED examination is administered by every state, which designates the location of testing centers, times, and dates. The GED tests in America cover four content areas: language arts, social studies, science, and math. Every choice has a time limit. The GED tests are now taken on a computer, and question formats include various choices, fill-in-the-blanks, hot spot, and drag-and-drop. There is also a 45-minute compulsory language arts essay, as well as a 25-minute social studies essay.

The GED tests must be taken individually at an official GED testing center. Examinations cannot be taken online, and the GED Testing Service warns interested candidates to be cautious of the many websites that claim to offer online testing and accredited degrees.

History of the GED

The GED in America began in 1942 when the U.S. Department of Defense partnered with the American Council on Education to develop a battery of general education examinations based on the high school syllabus. The tests were initially for military personnel and veterans who had enlisted before concluding their high school education. Passing these tests gave these service members an academic credential that could be used to help them gain entry into college or to find a job.

In 1947, the state of New York became the first state that made the GED examination available to non-veteran civilians and made it equal to the Regent’s Diploma, a credential generally given to adults attending night school to obtain their high school diploma. By 1974, at last, all 50 states were presenting GED credentials to non-veteran civilians. The American Council on Education has revised GED in America, and it plans future revisions as individual, employment, and academic needs evolve.

Where to Undertake the GED

GED testing sites and study centers in America are located in all states. Study centers are basically part of a state’s Adult Education network, while testing centers are usually at colleges, universities, public schools, or community centers. Some states have many GED sites, while others may have only a few at centralized locations. The GED Testing Service website,, has a Test Prep Center locator tool that you can use to find a study center based near you. You will be required to create an account to use this tool. The Testing Service website also offers a search tool for GED testing centers, and you can find the location nearest you with an address or zip code.

How to Undertake the GED

Ged Online Test

Most GED online programs provide a pre-test meant to gauge readiness.

To take the GED, a learner should first prepare for the examination. Many GED programs provide a pre-test meant to gauge readiness. The GED Testing Service provides an official practice test called GED Ready that is taken on a computer and is half the actual test. GED Ready will tell you if you’re likely to pass the exams, and if you need more preparation, it will tell you what you require to study. There is a $6 fee for each of the four GED Ready test units.

There is also a shorter free practice test in English and Spanish that can assist you in understanding the four tests. Nevertheless, this test is not meant to determine if you are ready for the actual examinations.

To take the GED tests, you should register on the website. Eligibility requirements for the GED vary by state. Being able to prove residency, age, and lack of a secondary school credentials are typically required to register for the test. You can check eligibility requirements for every state and testing jurisdiction on the GED Testing Service website.

The GED tests are usually available in English and Spanish. Test takers can also apply for accommodations, such as additional time, a reader or scribe, a private room, and all other permitted accommodations. The GED tests cost differs from state to state, but averages around $120 for the four tests.

References and Resources